top of page
  • Howe Sound Unmasked

Study Tip of the Week!

Updated: Sep 14, 2019


By: Harman Cheema


Study tip #2- Making Lists


Making lists of tasks I need to do, makes me feel organized and allows me to focus on one task at a time instead of stressing over an abundance of them. I’m a easily stressed-out individual, so this technique has been very useful to get myself calm and present.

The first step is to identify your current goals and tasks. Most of the time for me, this is homework and assignments. But list-making can extend to daily tasks and chores as well, to increase motivation. Here’s an example- let’s say I have an English essay to write (which I actually do and should really start) and some math questions to solve. Instead of writing them down altogether and getting simultaneously overwhelmed, I break them down as such:


Literary Essay


Step 1) Find Quotes from Novel


Step 2) Based on quotes, create 3 topic sentences


Step 3) Identify 3 Body Paragraph Topics

- What the Symbol Initially Represents

- What the Symbol Represents once the meaning behind it is lost

- What the Symbol is left to represent once the story is over


Step 4) Conclusion

- Reflect on initial topic

- Did the author complete his objective with this symbol?

- My own personal comments

- rephrase first “creative hook”

- My opinion on Symbol


Math Questions

Step 1) Rewrite notes from class


Step 2) Read notes from textbook


Step 3) Complete at least 12 questions

* I can break this down even further by writing down each page or each question

Now, you might be thinking “Doesn’t this make the task seem larger or harder?”. Not exactly. You see, the key point of this is focus on one task at a time. By breaking each task down, writing it down and then checking them off as you go, allows the brain to receive validation and control over the task. Each item I complete I identify as a “win”. Not everything will be completed in one day and as long as I have this outline, I always know what to do next.


This activity only takes a couple minutes, and allows you to feel more motivated, structured and eager to complete your task. Physically writing down works best. If you know you can resist the urge to go on social media, using your phone works.

Making lists can be used for the little things as well. Sometimes, the night before I organize my mornings. Checking off the little wins like “Getting Up” and “Journal” can give me a boost for the rest of the day.


You are in charge of your education, your grades and your coursework. Yeah, you can complain about the load or how unfair the teacher is. Or you can actually do something about it.


I hope you find this technique useful!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Small Changes with Great Impact

Annie Malpass When we address problems such as climate change and pollution, it’s easy for one to get overwhelmed. Such worldwide problems make us and our actions seem insignificant to the final outco

bottom of page